Annual Awards Banquet

The 31st Annual Awards Banquet were presented by the County Planning Commission and the Grand Traverse County Chapter of the Michigan Townships Association on Thursday, November 3 at Boone’s Long Lake Inn. This time-honored celebration recognizes individuals, plans, and developments that enhance the communities in the County. Sixteen individuals received recognition.

The Frank Purvis Stewardship Award

"None of us really owns the land we occupy during our brief span, we are stewards; entrusted with the care and management of the land. It is expected that we will turn it over to subsequent generations in as good, if not better, condition as when it was under our responsibility." - Frank Purvis

The 2016 Frank Purvis Stewardship Award recipient is Jan Warren, City of Traverse City Planning Commissioner.

The Roger Williams Planner Award

 “For excellence in the professional field of planning to the communities through encouraging or facilitating cooperative efforts between local units, agencies, and the County and by fostering the County Master Plan and guidebooks.”

The 2016 Roger Williams Planner Award recipient is John Iacoangeli, Consulting Planner with Beckett & Raeder.

Placemaking Awards

Pine Street Pedestrian Bridge, City of Traverse City

Garland Street, City of Traverse City

Outstanding Development Awards

Cobblestone Farms, Mayfield Township

Sewer Improvement Project, Village of Fife Lake